Poem

wow! i was looking for poems for my literature peformance task when i came across this poem.. i fell in love with it immediately.. i decided to post it here..

Taking Risks

To laugh is to risk appearing the fool
To weep is to risk being called sentimental
To reach out to another is to risk involvement

To expose feelings is to risk showing your true self
To place your ideas and your dreams before the crowd is to risk being called naïve

To love is to risk not being loved in return
To live is to risk dying
To hope is to risk despair and,
To try is to risk failure

But risks must be taken
The greatest risk in life is to risk nothing
The person who risks nothing… does nothing, has nothing, and becomes nothing

He may avoid suffering and sorrow
But he simply cannot learn and feel and change and grow and love and live
Chained by his servitude, he is a slave
He has forfeited his freedom

Only the person who risks is truly free.

sigh.. i LOVE this poem..

You know, i thought about it.. people in the world nowadays never take risks. we prefer to live on the sidelines, watch others live their dreams. Some of us are living out our worst nightmares instead of our dreams just because we made the choice. thats just sad don’t u think? we should learn to make our imaginary moments into surreal beginnings. Beginnings of a NEW LIFE!

wow.. im so inspirational and poetic.. lols.. the literature PT has influenced me i guess.. haha.. i will now post a quote about risk-taking because i feel like it.. haha.. suffer!

If I had my life to live over I’d like to make more mistakes next time. I’d relax. I would limber up. I would be sillier than I have been this trip. I would take fewer things seriously. I would take more chances. I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers. I would eat more ice cream and fewer beans. I would perhaps have more actual trouble, but I’d have fewer imaginary ones. You see, I’m one of those people who live sensibly and sanely hour after hour, day after day.

Oh, I’ve had my moments, and if I had to do it over again, I’d have more of them. In fact, I’d try to have nothing else. Just moments, one after another, instead of living so many years ahead of each day. I’ve been one of those persons who never goes anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a raincoat, and a parachute. If I had to do it again, I would travel lighter that I have. If I had my life to live over, I would start barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall. I would go to more dances. I would ride more merry-go-rounds, I would pick more daisies.

Nadine Stair at age 85

that was so sad wasn’t it guys? i loved it! i thought it was super meaningful!!!

Leave a Reply

