Potterheads

Hm, okay I get very irritated when people start getting all self righteous about Harry Potter. Seriously. Like people who go all, ‘Ohhh people who like Draco Malfoy are delusional” and you should only have canon ships. I mean, what makes the HP world so amazing, is the amount of freedom that the fans have. You have no bloody right to tell me who I can ship. I will ship whoever I want to ship okay DEAL WITH IT. I will always love Draco Malfoy. I mean, what we were shown in the books were just what they characters were like in that 7 years, in school. We have no idea what their backstories are, and JKR has given us the freedom to imagine what we would like to.

I like to think that JKR left loose ends at the end of the series because she wanted us to explore the characters for ourselves. I mean, she couldn’t tell us every little minute detail of every character’s lives, and I have a feeling that she wouldn’t have even if she could. Canon is canon, we all have to accept that, but that doesn’t mean that we fans cannot fangirl over who we want, or ship whichever OTP we have. I like to think that HP characters are multi-faceted, and its up to us to explore them. I like Draco Malfoy. I think Tom Riddle is one of the most jaded, complex characters I know. I love reading Marauder era fiction.

OH and don’t even get me STARTED on people who hate on house. Shut up!!!!!!!! Not everyone in Slytherin is awful. Not everyone in Hufflepuff is loser (ahem) Not everyone is Gryffindor is brave and glorious (peter pettigrew anyone? romilda vane!?) And not everyone in Ravenclaw is stuck up and haughty (luna guys luna) SO SHUT UP AND LET US TRUE POTTERHEADS LOVE OUR HOUSES OKAY. DON’T JUDGE HOUSES CAUSE IF YOU DO YOU’RE A HORRID HP FAN. SHAME ON YOU.

JUST LET ME FANGIRL AND SHIP WHOEVER I WANT OKAY. STOP BEING SELF RIGHTEOUS. I’M SORRY IF RON-HERMIONE ISN’T MY FAVOURITE SHIP. I WILL ALWAYS RESPECT IT BECAUSE OUR QUEEN SAID SO, BUT I AM GOING TO READ AND SHIP DRAMIONE ALL I WANT. AND SORRYYYYYY GINNY, BUT I HAPPEN TO LIKE DRARRY. HMPH. YOU CAN NEVER TAKE THAT AWAY FROM ME. NEVER.

Ergh I hate Potterheads who are so strictly canon. Seriously guys, be a little more open minded and let me have my fun alright? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

